The Art of Losing

 

‘The art of losing isn’t hard to master;
so many things seem filled with the intent
to be lost that their loss is no disaster,
Lose something every day. Accept the fluster
of lost door keys, the hour badly spent.
The art of losing isn’t hard to master.
Then practice losing farther, losing faster:
places, and names, and where it was you meant
to travel. None of these will bring disaster.’

This weekend my partner and I took a road trip to spend some quality time together away from the responsibilities of daily life and business. Freedom was just what we needed; from schedules, errands, to-do lists, meetings and engagements, all of which pile on layers of pressure and stress at a weight we have started to accept as normal.

Our time away reminded us of how much we enjoy one another’s company and how much we love one another. I found myself staring at him often on this trip and being overwhelmed by how much I love him and with feelings of appreciation and gratitude for the time I have with him – which brings me to One Art and my thoughts in bed this morning.

How is it that I am able to find beauty and appreciation in the very small things we often take for granted in the lightning pace of life? How is it that, with all of the fears of what could go wrong, I am able to love my partner so freely and deeply without being paralyzed by the fear of loss?

It’s because of this poem.

Like everyone, as I’ve aged I’ve practiced losing.  I started small losing my doll and my favorite marble. Next, I lost my favorite shirt and my school books. Then, I got better at it and one-by-one lost:

my naivety
my innocence
my virginity
my first love
my friendships
my relationships
my independence
my health
myself.

I, like you, have mastered losing. Whether it is a set of keys, the right words, a piece of yourself or the loss of someone you love – we’ve all been there and we have learned to cope. We lose something every day, and we get by.

I find the beauty in the small things because I am aware that everything is temporary. I am aware that at any moment all of these beautiful things can be lost. Love is fleeting; beauty changes; health fails. This is the cycle of life.

I am here today therefore I will LIVE.

I am lucky to have a job therefore I will DO MY BEST.

I am in love and am loved therefore I will EXPRESS GRATITUDE and I will make my LOVE known.

Practice. Lose. Lose again. Lose harder and faster.
Don’t be afraid.
You’re a master!

Leave a Reply

