Cheshire Smile

I am the Mistake-Maker
the maker of mistakes
I swim with the fishes
the school of the Fakes
Together we swarm
through the mess and the bustle
pretending along, the most
intricate hustle.
We push down our feelings
and ignore our desires
nobody would know
we’re such fabulous liars.
Doing the dance
that the dancers perfected
trying to prove that
we can’t be affected.
I am the Mistake-Maker
the maker of mistakes
I swim with the fishes
the school of the Fakes.
What feelings, you ask?
I live in denial
Come closer, I’ll show you
my Cheshire smile.
I’ll show you my teeth
they are my most notable feature
disguising a heavy,
omnipresent creature.
I swim with the fishes
the school of the Fakes
Pleased to meet you,
let’s do this
if you have what it takes.
Push down your feelings
your desires have no place
Mistake-Makers, swarm
on the freshest new face.
I am the Mistake-Maker
maker of mistakes
I swim with the fishes
I’ve learned what it takes.

9 thoughts on “Cheshire Smile

  1. Kelly, I just found your blog moments ago. but I have to comment which is not in my character. As I read your poem your words struck me like a brick wall, my tendency is the run through life at 100 miles an hour from dawn to dusk. You have inspired me to stop, listen to my heart and follow my dreams once again…. and keep reading! Thanks for your beautiful words!

  2. stumbled upon the writings sobbing uncontrolably could barely read it had to keep wiping my eyes…feeling so alone watching what seems to be every part of me heart soul mind very breath in my body leaving me to crumble into a heap of nothing just and empty shell and not a pretty shell found on the beach..i am grateful for the comfort that your words brought me a bit of peace a little calm in this storm which is my life…thanks

Leave a Reply

