Untitled

Do not ask the Lord to guide your footsteps, if you are not willing to move your feet. ~ Unknown

It’s that time of year again… a time of reflection when we all sit back and look at the year now behind us and get ready to make resolutions for the year ahead. Christmas Day always puts me in a wierd place. It does something to me that I can’t control, no matter how hard I try. My mother makes fun of me because I cry all day and she thinks it’s because I hate my gifts, but that isn’t it at all (usually). It makes me very emotional and I know it has to do with the the overflow of spirit surrounding the day. They are happy tears but often when I cry I start thinking about more things because my emotions are so raw. When I am emotional I like to be in nature to be soothed and to listen to the spirits in the wind and trees and calls of the animals. This is what brought me to the year now behind me.

I decided to take a walk in the woods so I bundled up and set off. I found a quiet spot and layed down tobacco. I thanked the Creator for all of the blessings in my life, asked my spirits to watch over me on my journey and my journey that day, told them I was open to thier messages and asked to be shown what I am not seeing. I set off. The messages came. They always come if you are open to them.

I made a few promises to myself last year when I was making my resolutions. All resolutions will be towards bettering the person I am; to do things that safely bring me out of my comfort zone.  I resolved to use my words to speak my truth and to take take all of the steps necessary towards doing what I have to do to shape the life I hope to lead. As I looked back I realized, I should have split those up into separate years (wink wink). I chose two of the hardest things I have ever had to do. Baby steps.

Over the past year I think I used my words to speak my truth or ask uncomfortable questions approximately four times. I’m definately going to have to kick this up. But each time I did it, it got easier. Maybe it will always be scary but at least I am honoring myself.

Taking the steps necessary to shape the life I hope to lead. This is even more tough, and all of the messages I have been receiving in the last week are reminders that in some areas of my life, I am still not doing this. The fear and the potential discomfort have me frozen in place. What happens when you are frozen in place? You don’t get anywhere. How am I going to attain this life if I’m not moving? I have to start moving my feet. One year later…take a goddamn step.

And so it is….do not ask for messages and assistance down the path if you aren’t willing to move your feet. It’s a waste of everyone’s time; the Creator’s, the spirits (whomever they may be in your life), and yours. Don’t set yourself up to fail…take a step.

 

2 thoughts on “Untitled

  1. Your ‘story’ is so relative to my inner thoughts. I have spent at least an hour reading each of your posts. Your words are speaking from MY heart :)

    Thank you for this intimate literature.

Leave a Reply

