The Next Message You Need is Always Right Where You Are

I have been going to a meditation class once a week and the main message is to ‘be present’. Keep pulling yourself back into the present moment…don’t slide to the past…don’t spend time thinking about your ‘dream’ of the future….be here now. And I say ‘your dream’ of the future, because that is exactly what it is. A fantasty of what it will look like. We dream while we are awake. I catch myself doing this constantly, and I mean constantly. I play out entire future conversations and scenarios in my mind or I relive past situations trying to make sense of them. I lose chunks of time before I snap back to reality and think "well shiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiit, I did it again". I’m ADD, I’m bad at meditation, and I digress.
 
Be present.
 
How do you stay present if the present isn’t making you feel good? What if we are unsettled and working through something and looking for answers? If you are self-aware enough, while you are working through it, the one thing you can be absolutely sure of is that you WILL be accessing memories and patterns of the past – and analyzing the dreams that keep creeping in for the future – to make sure you are aware of what you want…to be sure that the next choice you make is going to be the right one….that it will blend both past and future into something that gives you peace right now. I believe that is okay. Because to receive answers…you have to really look inside. There is a quote that says this: "And then there’s that one moment..the moment when you’ve figured out just how much you’ve really let go, how much you’ve grown. It takes you back a step & it makes you think. It’s that moment when you can’t look back yet you can’t seem to look too far into the future. It’s the moment you realize you’re living for yourself & no one else. Never let go of that moment." That is the present moment.
 
Because the truth is, we cannot look for answers outside of ourselves. We can ask for guidance and opinions and help but the real answers lie burried inside somewhere; we just have to know how to access them. In this present moment, what are you thinking, what do you desire, what do you love, long for, and what do you want? What do you want? You don’t have to move away or take a trip or starve yourself for visions. You don’t have to write in journals and go to counselling ask everyone you know for advice until you hear the thing you want to hear. It might give you some perspective, but it doesn’t have to be done. Sometimes the best course of action is to just sit. Be still. Watch the thoughts that pass in and out, pay attention to your feelings, listen to your gut and realize that you have the answers. You can trust yourself. Everything…every answer is inside of you. You are capable and strong. The next message isn’t outside of you. The next message isn’t on a far off path. The next message you need is always right where you are.
 

 

(for Jenna)
5 thoughts on “The Next Message You Need is Always Right Where You Are

  1. miss you Kel….such a great writer!!! One of these days you will have to send this stuff in to be published!

  2. I’m so grateful I stumbled upon this blog.I was sesearching for answer to a broken toxic relationship and I’ve been reading all these post the last two are the reminders I needed to be able to move on. Thank you for showing up in my life.

Leave a Reply

